Hindupur: Nandamuri Balakrishna gets a hat-trick

Nandamuri Balakrishna

Nandamuri Balakrishna has won again. He retained his MLA seat from the Hindupur assembly constituency. This is his third victory in the constituency. He won it with a margin of 30,000 votes. He won three consecutive elections.


Nandamuri Balakrishna made his election debut in 2014, running as the TDP candidate in Hindupur. He also won in 2019. Between 1985 to 1994, his father, NT Rama Rao, won three consecutive elections in this constituency.

Later, his brother Nandamuri Hari Krishna won the 1996 by-election.

Since 1985, no party other than the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has won this constituency. NT Rama Rao, the TDP’s founder and a lendary actor, first won here in 1985. Balakrishna’s majority has near doubled compared to 2019.



Related Stories